2016 Annual Fall Meeting Report

2016 Illinois State BPA Fall Meeting Scrapbook

held November 13-14, 2016 at the Bloomington/Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center in Normal, Illinois.

MillerCoors Representatives Matt Krauss, Mike Walls and Myron Myers prepare members for their individual center "Building with Beer" consultations.

BPAA's Gerald Morrow provides information for member's use of ISBPA's purchase of an unlimited bulk-rate one-year subscription of Bowling University's online course curriculum.

Several Centers and Members were presented awards during ISBPA's Annual General Membership Meeting.  Congratulations to both centers inducted into ISBPA's 50-year Membership Club - Dodge Lanes, Belvidere and Lakes Bowl, Round Lake.

Brothers (l-r) Jim & Bob Stubler, Illinois Valley Super Bowl, Peru, were presented with WBPI's Proprietors of the Year Award   Bob was elected as ISBPA's President during the meeting.  He is the third Stubler family member who has served as ISBPA President, a first in ISBPA history.

Jeff Johnson of The 4 Seasons Bowl, Freeport, and wife Diane pose with Jeff's gifts presented to him for his two years of service and leadership to ISBPA as its President.

Naperville's Kurt Harz, who recently retired as Brunswick's VP of Sales, receives ISBPA's Award of Gratitude from ISBPA's Jeff Johnson.

Kim Stanek Sims of Fox Bowl, Wheaton, was presented with the P.F. Bosco Award of Merit for her relentless commitment and service in providing additional bowling opportunities to youth bowlers throughout Illinois.

Outgoing ISBPA President Jeff Johnson presents I.V. Super Bowl's Jim Stubler with a plaque for his selection for the President's Award.

Alan Nordman, proprietor of Town & County Lanes, Mt. Morris, receives his star trophy from Jeff Johnson as the "Best of the ISBPA" for his center's selection for the outstanding promotion of a sucessful Youth Sports League Program in his community.

Tangerine Bowl, Quincy, proprietor Doug Wiewel accepts ISBPA's Award of Recognition on behalf of recipent Weston Young, who is also an employee at his center.

ISBPA's Fall Meeting included six hours of education programming and five hours of networking/social events, all in one day's time!


Annual Fall Meeting Report Archives

2015 Illinois State BPA 2015 Fall Meeting Scrapbook


More than 90 proprietors, vendors and guests participated in Illinois State Bowling Proprietors Association’s Annual Fall Meeting program, held Nov. 8-9, 2015 at Hotel Arista in Naperville, Illinois.

Membership Meeting

47 ISBPA member centers were represented at the Association’s Annual General Membership Meeting and were provided industry reports and program updates from BPAA, Strike Ten Entertainment, along with ISBPA’s State Lobbyist and School Bowling Specialist.

Tom Clark

Professional Bowler’s Association Commissioner Tom Clark provided the keynote presentation.

Peterson Award

Petersen Award Recipient - Bob Crawford

Winners of ISBPA’s annual and special awards for 2015 were announced at the Nov. 9 Annual Meeting.  Bob Crawford, Pana Bowl, Pana, won the Louis P. Petersen Award, given to an ISBPA member who has devoted a lifetime of service to the sport and industry. Crawford, who at one time owned multiple centers in the southern Illinois area, has served as ISBPA President, ISBPA representative on the BPAA Board of Directors, and has chaired several BPAA and ISBPA committees.  He has also served several terms as the President of the Southern Illinois BPA.

50th Aniversary

Diversy River Bowl’s Gary Secrest and Lisle Lane’s Cesar Canonigo proudly display their center’s 50th Anniversary Award Diversy River Bowlin Chicago and Lisle Lanes, Lisle, were recognized for reaching the 50-year mark in BPA membership.

Best Website

Accepting the Best Website award is Palos Lanes Webmaster Ed Cermak Jr., along with Kyle Cermak

Best Promotion

I.V. Super Bowl’s Jim & Bob Stubler display their award for Best Bowling Promotion

Other awards included the inaugural “Best of the ISBPA” awards.  Luby Publishing President Keith Hamilton presented Palos Lanes, Palos Park, with the 2015 Best Member Website honor. Industry veteran Kurt Harz awarded Illinois Valley Super Bowl with the 2015 Best Bowling Promotion for their “Bowling for Boob” fundraiser to support Breast Cancer Awareness.

Laraway Lanes, New Lenox,won QubicaAMF's special “Pin Program” drawing to have itsnational and state BPA dues paid by QubicaAMF in 2016.


Education dominated the Nov. 8-9 conference, as well-respected industry broker Sandy Hansell, BPAA Director of Education Kelly Bednar, STE’s Myron Myers and MillerCoors Matthew Krausse, and Constant Contact’s Betsy Armstrong, and  panelists from several FEC Supporting members present on a variety of topics.  Conference attendees also networked with each other and with vendors and product/service exhibitors during the Nov. 9 Supporting Member Mini-Display/Business and Cocktail Social.